Costa admits players are to blame

on

Diego Costa says the players are to blame for Chelsea’s poor start, admitting he returned for pre-season overweight following the summer.
Chelsea are 16th in the Premier League after losing half of their opening eight games. It represents their worst start to a season in 37 years, leading the club to issue a statement to confirm their “full support” of Mourinho.
“We know we’re not in the form we were supposed to be at the beginning of the season,” Costa said. “We need to blame the players because we came back from holiday very confident, thinking we could go back into how it was last season, and then realised the team was already in a bad situation.
“I’m going to be very honest: maybe a few weeks ago, five or six weeks ago, I was not on top of my game. At least physically.
“We talk within the players and we know that, maybe at the beginning, we were not 100% as we were supposed to be when we got here. I got injured at the end of last season and then I went on holiday. Maybe I got out of my diet and, when I came back, I was not the way I was supposed to be. I was a little bit overweight. That affected my game.

Leave a Reply

